Classes & Scheduling

August 1st, 2011

IMO (in my opinion), Wentworth is a bit unique in how they schedule classes. Since the Architecture major is such a studio intensive major, Wentworth can do things that many other schools can’t. For example, I can earn my Master’s degree of Architecture in 5 years, as opposed to 6 or 7 years at most other schools. A lot of people question how this is possible, but I think I am starting to figure it out…

As of right now, I am registered for 4 classes. They are, SURVEY OF ARCHITECTURE I, DESIGN PRINCIPLES I, COLLEGE MATH I, and PSYCHOLOGY. (I have PSYCHOLOGY because of my scores on the AP ENGLISH exams back in High School {ha}). Right now, I am contemplating taking a 5th class. Everybody that I have spoken to at the school is telling me to stay away from that idea, but I feel like I won’t be challenged enough. Unfortunately for me, I work best under pressure. Along with that, taking a 5th class would let me get 2 graduation requirements out of the way early in my college years (the other req is PSYCHOLOGY). I don’t know what the final call will be, but I’ll keep y’all posted. As you see, 3 out of my 4 classes are Architecture classes. Now I see how they get us in and out in 5 years, they load our schedules with classes we NEED.

So tomorrow is the big day! Housing packets are to be a mailed out. I requested Baker Hall. It is a 1st year students’ dorm, with the traditional “doubles” dorming style. I stayed there during orientation. Anxious to hear from WIT!

Leave a Reply

